2014

Visualising

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Visualising is a strategy used be effective readers to help their comprehension. By seeing a movie in our mind, we are able to better understand what we are reading.  But the best visualising goes beyond just seeing – we can bring in the other senses as well.  Well written, descriptive work can often cause us to smell, taste, hear and feel things as well as see them.

The Year 2 champs have been doing some work on visualising, drawing to show the picture they see when text has been read to them.  Today, we watched a video clip of baby sea turtles hatching (click here to watch).  The children then imagined what it would be like to be these turtles.  They tried to visualise what the turtles would be seeing, hearing, tasting, feeling and smelling.  Here is some of their resulting writing.

Hatching Turtle

by Kane

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell the sweet sand and the salt water.

I see crabs desperate to gobble me up.

I hear the air sweeping past me.

I feel great!  Now I am home.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Alvaro

I was coming out of my egg and I am crawling into the sea.

I smell danger coming near to me.

I see a tiny fish near by to me.

I hear wind blowing.

I feel frightened.  Danger is snapping at me.

I taste salty water.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Emily

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell predators around me.  It is scary!

I see danger but when I am in the water, I am safe!

I hear the wind as I go into the water.

I feel scared when I am alone.

I taste seaweed when I am in the water.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Scarlet

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell the salty sea.

I see the beautiful sunset.

I hear the bubbly water.

It feels smooth.

I taste salt water.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Kiara

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell the sea coming towards me.

I see crabs coming to me.

I hear the seagulls squawking across the sea.

I feel the wind coming to me.

I taste the sea while I go to the sea.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Mitchell K

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell salt water when I come towards the ocean.

I see seaweed in the water when I go in the water.

I hear the wind over me.  I sometimes eat it.

I feel sun over me, rising.

I taste rocks hard in my mouth.

 

Baby Sea Turtles Hatching

by Kody

When I came out, I raced with my family.

I see a shark so I hide in my shell.

I hear seagulls grabbing fish.

I feel vibration from the ground – people stomping and shouting.

I taste rain and seaweed and salt water.

 

Turtle Hatching

by CJ

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell salt water in the ocean.

I see tiny fish in danger.

I hear ocean waves.

I feel the sun.

I taste seaweed when I swim.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Bella

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell the seaweed all around.

I see the crabs waiting for me.

I hear the waves wash.

I feel the sand wash by me.

 

Hatching Turtle

by Nicole

I hatch out of my shell and crawl towards the ocean.

I smell the fresh breeze of the wind.

I see the beautiful trees making shade for me.

I feel the wet sand under me.

I taste the disgusting salt water as I swim across.

I hear the nice ocean saying, “Hi.”

 

 

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress
Skip to toolbar