2014

Virtual Excursion to the Smithsonian Museum

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

 To continue our work on recounts, we made a virtual visit to the Smithsonian Museum today.  You can get there by clicking on this link.  We focussed on using time words such as first, next, then, after that, lastly to talk about our museum trip.  The children paired up and interviewed each other, talking about their museum visit.  You can see one of the interviews in this video clip.

 

The children then wrote about their trip.  You can see how well they used the time words in the recounts below.

Today we went to the Museum of Natural History.

First we went to the dinosaur hall.  There were dinosaur fossils.  There was a T Rex skeleton.

After than, we went to the Ice Age.  There were big tusks on a mammoth.

Then we went to the Ocean Hall.  There were whales and a shark and a turtle.

I loved it.

by Jack

 

Today our class visited the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.

First we visited dinosaur fossils…  there was big and small fossils.

Next we went to Ice Age.  We saw weird looking skeletons.  They looked dangerous.

After that we went to the Ocean.  I saw a big crab and jelly fish.  We saw a huge whale. 

Then we flew to our school.

It was my best day ever.

by Mitchell M

 

Today me and my class visited a museum of natural history.

First I went to the Dinosaur Exhibit.  I saw fossils.  One was huge!

Second, I went to the Ice Age exhibit.  I saw a mammoth with huge teeth!  Then I saw a dinosaur with a hand on its nose.

After that, I saw a whale in the Ocean Hall and a jelly fish with spikes on its flippers.

Eventually I headed back to class.

by Imogen

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress
Skip to toolbar